Lower Body Blast!

Hellow everyone! I Know, I missed the midday post today! I was a little busy job searching, grocery shopping, cleaning, baking, working out…Oh dear I’m becomming a real housewife :). Let’s begin at the beginning, breakfast. Take a look at this baby! Cocoa Protein Breakfast Cake. This baby gave me a great punch to get me through the morning!

Cocoa Cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 scoop vanille protein powder
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 T of chia seeds
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 T of unsweetened almond milk
  • Dash of cinnamon/vanilla

Directions:

  • mash up banana with a fork
  • Mix all ingredients in a bowl
  • Spray a small bowl with cooking spray;
  • Place in microwave. Heat for 2:30 minutes. Check every minute so that it does not overflow. You will need to experiment with the timing. It should be light, fluffy, and a little firm.
  • Place on a plate and cover with your choice of topping. I used almond butter mixed with a dash of cocoa powder and some granola).

This healthy breaky got me through my workout! I created a Lower Body Blast wich I did right before lunch.  I just love the wheight set Jonas gave me! Complete 3 rounds of the following circuit.

Warm up:

10 min low to medium intensity cardio

Cardio:

5 min high intensity cardio

Strength:

Squat 10 reps

Stationary lunge 10 reps each leg

Plié squat 10 reps

deadlift 10 reps

Glute bridge 10 reps

Step ups 10 reps each leg

Wall sit 1min

Squat 10 reps

Cool down:

5min low intensity cardio

Woehoew! Sweatfest!

For lunch I had the same as yesterday, Hummus Scrambled Eggs.

When my mother came home from work she convinced me to make my Applesauce Sweet Bread. Perfect for an afternoon snack! Topped with some almond butter 😉

Applesauce bread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For dinner I made Orange Chicken Salade.

Orange Chicken Salad

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups diced cooked chicken breast, in bite-size pieces
  • 1 orange, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds
  • 1 cup letuce

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  • Poach the chicken
  • Mix toghether chicken, orange, almonds, raisins and 3 tablespoons parsley
  • For dressing, mix orange juice, cinnamon, ginger, turmeric and salt until blended. Add 4-5 grinds of pepper. Whisk in oil
  • Pour dressing over chicken mixture and toss with fork to combine. Let salad sit at room temperature for 30 minutes before serving

Enjoy!

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lower Body Blast!

  1. […] face planted the floor! My leggs and bum are on fire and burning like crazy! Yesterday’s Lower Body Blast definitely did the trick . If there is a burn I love it’s post workout muscle burn! […]

  2. Birdnests! « Almond Butter Fever December 6, 2012 at 6:51 pm Reply

    […] yesterday’s Lower Body Blast today it was time for an Upper Body Blast! Tomorrow I’ll probably need a wheelchair! Here we […]

  3. Uh-Oh, Spaghetti-O « Almond Butter Fever December 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm Reply

    […] he passes the exam tomorrow!  After a break from working out yesterday it was time for another lower body blast. I’m definitely feeling stronger and my runs are getting better yay for straight […]

  4. Snow and Cookies! « Almond Butter Fever January 15, 2013 at 7:56 pm Reply

    […] workout for today was the lower body blast. Hit the […]

Leave a Reply

