Cauliflower Couscous

I took a time out from working out this weekend. When I got home I was ready for some sweat! I love the way a workout feels after some time off. I also felt an inflammation like burn in my lower leg last week. When I looked up my symptoms it kind off looked/felt like the beginning of shin splints. After reading some more about this injury I got a bit freaked out(I always google everything when there’s something wrong and then freak out). It’s always better to be safe than sorry, so I took it slow this weekend. After my workout today I didn’t feel the burn anymore so maybe it was northing. I began my workout with a 45min interval training on the stationary bike. That really got my heart racing! Then I also did this arms workout. For dinner I was in the mood for something oriental.

Cauliflower Couscous:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head of cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup red pepper, finely diced
  • 2 Tbsp grated ginger
  • 3/4 cups cashews
  • 1 large orange (about 2 Tbsp zest and 1/2 cup juice)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Kurkuma

Directions:

  • Pulse cauliflower florets and stems in a food processor until it resembles small rice grains or large couscous grains (depending on your food processor, you might want to do this in batches).  Note that this does not work very well with frozen cauliflower.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  Chop red pepper and mix with grated ginger and set aside.  Zest the orange peel with a small zester or box grater and juice the orange.
  • Heat coconut oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat.  Add cauliflower with salt, cinnamon, cumin and kurkuma.  Cook, stirring frequently, until the cauliflower is cooked al dente, about 6-7 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and pour cauliflower into a large bowl.
  • Stir in raisins, red pepper and ginger, cashews and orange zest  until combined.  Pour orange juice and vinegar over the top and stir to coat.
  • Refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving (this is one of those salads that tastes even better the next day).

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

