Getting ready to watch my least favorite football team ;)

Today is game day! Jonas is a big fan of the Belgian football team called Bruges. I’m not! I’m a fan of Bruges’s rival team Anderlecht 🙂 I must admit that it’s hard sometimes to share the bed with the enemy…But we make it work 😉

 

 

 

 

 

For dinner I poached a chicken breast and shredded it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The keys to poaching are: the size of the pan, the volume of liquid and the cooking temperature.

  • Place chicken breasts in a pot that’s just about large enough to fit them in one layer. Two medium chicken breasts fit snugly in my 2 quart round oven.
  • Add poaching liquid (I used chicken broth, salt & pepper, bay leaves) so that it completely covers the chicken by at least a half inch to an inch.
  • After bringing the liquid to a boil, reduce heat to a bare simmer so that only an occasional bubble breaks the surface. At this point, partly cover the pot, cook for about 10 minutes, then turn off the heat, leaving the chicken to finish cooking in the hot water for 10-15 more minutes.
  • Remove chicken, then enjoy it warm or refrigerate it for later use. Slice or shred your poached chicken depending on what you want to use it for.

I chredded the chicken and mixed it up with leftover Crunchy Autumn Salad.

Enjoy!

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Getting ready to watch my least favorite football team ;)

  1. […] Lunch today was Honey Chicken Salad. First I paoched and chredded a chicken filet. […]

Leave a Reply

