Midterm Fever!

How I hated those midterms! I remember them as if it was yesterday…I would lock myself up in my room for weeks and only come out for a workout or food 🙂

It’s my oldest brother’s first year in college and for the first time in his life he realy has te study. No more party’s and only books allowed! Meet Janick:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I woke up rather early this morning. My mother had already left for work and little brother had just left for school. Janick was still sleaping so I decided to make him some pancakes and fresh coffee for when he woke up. –> best sister ever <–.

I followed the instructions found in this recipe but tweaked it a little. The substitutions are in italic:

Ingredients:

2 eggs (1 egg + 1 egg white)

1 1/2 whole wheat flour

heaping 1/2 cup old fashioned oats

2 tablespoons of Stevia

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

healthy pinch of freshly ground nutmeg

2 cups almond milk

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup

I omitted the butter and used unsweetened appelsauce

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

I omitted the raisins

Coconut oil (for cooking)

Instructions:

Step 1: In a large bowl beat eggs. Add almond milk, maple syrup and vanilla and mix well. Add flour, oats, stevia, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt. Mix well until mostly smooth.
Step 2: Heat griddle or pan over medium heat. Add a teaspoon of coconut oil to the pan. You can test to see if the pan is hot enough by adding a few drops of water,  when the drops start to dance it’s hot enough.
Step 3: Pour 2 tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. You can also gently lift up the pancake to make sure the bottom is not overcooking, if it is the pan may be too hot and you will need to adjust the heat. Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Let cooked pancakes rest on a heat proof plate in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

My brother topped them with some Nutella 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I preferred some good old maple!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He loved it! and so did I of course 🙂

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

